Deadline for Submissions for Carter G. Woodson Scholars Medallion and Freedom Scholar Awards is June 11, 2019


2019 Awards Nominations
Submitter's Address
Nominee Address
Is Nominee aware of this nomination? *
Upload any documents to support your nomination (these may include resume/vita; letters of recommendations; transcript; published /unpublished work, etc.)
Maximum upload size: 52.43MB

Carter G. Woodson Scholars Medallion
The Carter Godwin Woodson Scholars Medallion is presented to a scholar whose career is distinguished through at least a decade of research, writing, and activism in the field of African American life and history. The recipient’s career should embody and personify the Woodson legacy to ensure a firm foundation for the continuance of African-centered education through dedication and commitment to African-American history. Dr. Woodson devoted his entire life and resources to chronicling African American history and the recipient must have continued his tradition of correcting the deficiencies in American history where African American History is misinterpreted or distorted. The person selected must be a trained historian and an active participant in the scholarly work of the Association for the Study of African American Life and History. The award is presented annually.

Mary McLeod Bethune Service Award
This award was established in tribute to Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune because of her dynamic leadership and her years of contributing to education, women’s history, and African-American life and culture. Dr. Bethune served as the first woman president of ASALH from 1936 to 1951 and is one of the outstanding women role models in our history. The award recipient must be a member of ASALH who has been an active supporter and contributor to the ASALH’s work for 10 or more years. The individual’s significant contribution must have been in all or some of the following areas: Branch work; service on the Executive Council; fund raising; work on the Black History Month Theme Material; education; and the Woodson Home. Finally, the recipient will be one whose career has been highlighted with service to education, African American history, and the community. All these attributes symbolize the life of Dr. Bethune. The award is presented annually.

Freedom Scholar Award
A Freedom Scholar seeks to empower and inspire. A Freedom Scholar provides a direct benefit to African-American communities locally or nationally. ASALH has initiated the Freedom Scholar award to honor early career scholars in any discipline who can demonstrate that their work is having a direct positive impact on the life of African-Americans. The Freedom Scholar Award recognizes the contributions of an early career academic whose scholarship focuses on the empowerment of the African-American community. Applicants and nominees must be within ten (10) years of receipt of their terminal degree.

Requirements and criteria for candidates/nominees:
• Submit an essay of no more than 500 words which must include the date of terminal degree, area of scholarship and detail how the scholar’s work has benefitted or empowered the African-American community.
• Attach a research or published article(s) or data including media or governmental action or letters of support from a group (NGO/nonprofit/ institution or governmental agency) demonstrating the nexus between the candidate’s scholarship and the benefit achieved.
• The candidate’s essay must clearly address this nexus between academic scholarship and the benefit to a particular African-American community and/or the African-American community generally. Evidence of scholarship may include any field of the arts and sciences.

Living Legacy Award
Initiated in partnership with Farmers Insurance, the ASALH Living Legacy Awards honor African American women and men across the country engaged in extraordinary work to improve communities, institutions, organizations and family life. Past honorees include teachers, administrators, historians, academic writers, and trailblazers in institutions such as public, private and nontraditional primary and secondary schools, institutions of higher learning, government and community.

Council Award of Special Recognition

ASALH established the Award of Special Recognition to acknowledge the contributions of individuals, institutions and corporations that make a substantial contribution to the success of ASALH in pursuing the mission of its founder, Dr. Carter G. Woodson. The Award may vary and will include certificates, medals, trophies, and plaques. Nominees must demonstrate a history of support for activities and programs consistent with ASALH’s mission, which may include support for annual events such as the Annual Meeting, the Black History Month Luncheon and the Carter G. Woodson Birthday Celebration, as well as support for special initiatives such as the general campaign. The Council, at its discretion, may also designate individuals for special recognition who have made noteworthy accomplishments or contributions to the documentation, preservation and accurate dissemination of the Black experience through teaching, service, research, scholarship and publishing.

ASALH Luminary Award
The ASALH Luminary Award was established to recognize the outstanding work and contributions related to the mission and goals of ASALH, including the local branch, by a person in the locale of the annual convention. Nominees should have made significant contributions to African American history and culture with a focus on the local community where the annual meeting of ASALH is being held. Nominations must be submitted by the Local Arrangements Committee and approved by the Executive Council of ASALH.