The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Visiting Professor/Scholar Program (MLK/VPSP) is accepting nominations for MLK Visitors for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The purpose of the MLK/VPSP is (1) to enhance and to recognize the contributions of minority scholars through their greater presence on the MIT campus and (2) to encourage individuals of any underrepresented minority group, with emphasis on African Americans, to share their scholarly, professional, and teaching achievements with MIT faculty, staff, and students. In addition to faculty members from other institutions, the Program will consider applications from those in the public sector or in other roles of interest to our faculty. Recent visitors include Ta-Nehisi Coates (2015 National Book Award and MacArthur Fellowship winner), Baratunde Cola of Georgia Tech (2017 winner of the NSF Waterman Award), and Anita Hill of Brandeis University. The full listing of all visitors can be found at

Nominations are submitted online by the Administrative Officer or Program Manager of the host unit. Full information about the nomination process can be found at Please note, candidates must be nominated and must have a faculty host.

Completed nominations, including all letters of endorsement, must be received through the online application system by February 15, 2019. Decisions on nominations are expected by mid-March 2019.

Visitors may be hosted by any unit at MIT, however engagement with MIT faculty is a requirement of the program, as demonstrated by the identification of a faculty host and the endorsement of a Dean of one of MIT’s five schools.

Alyce Johnson
Manager of Staff Diversity and Inclusion
Interim Institute Community Equity Officer