Association for the Study of African American Life and History Executive Council 2022 Awards Committee Report September 15, 2022

Awards Committee Members: Denise Barnes Rolark, Anton House, Moses Massenburg, Greg Mixon, Camesha Scruggs (Co-Chair), Tara Y. White (Co-Chair)

The 2022 Awards Committee is pleased to report that it was successful in its effort to secure nominations, select award candidates, and notify the awardees.

This year, the Committee received 42 nominations. Sincere thanks to the Council members who submitted nominations or encouraged colleagues to do so. We have a wonderful slate of awardees this year.

The following nominees will receive the following awards:

Carter G. Woodson Scholars Medallion:

- Dr. Quintard Taylor
- Dr. Edna Greene Medford

Freedom Scholar Award:

• Dr. Shantella Sherman

Mary McLeod Bethune Service Award:

- Dr. Alicia Moore
- Ms. Madge Allen

<u>Living Legacy Award:</u>

- Dr. James B. Stewart
- Dr. James D. Anderson
- Mr. Rodney Lawrence Hurst, Sr.

Council Award of Special Recognition

- Dr. Kimberly Jeffries Leonard
- Dr. Valarie Maholmes
- Mr. Brent Leggs

Luminary Award

- Dr. Ralph Joseph Bryson (posthumous)
- Mr. Fred David Gray, Sr., Esq.

Outstanding Branch Programming Award

• Dr. Edna B. McKenzie Branch, ASALH Pittsburgh

Dorothy Porter Wesley Award

• Ms. Frazine K. Taylor

President's Award

• Mr. Milton Davis, Esq.

V.P. Franklin Legacy Journal of African American History Award

- Dr. Maryam Aziz
- Mr. Kevin C. Quin

The Awards Program

The Awards Program will be held on Saturday evening, October 1, 2022 from 7:30 to 10:30 PM, at the Renaissance Hotel and Spa at the Convention Center in Montgomery.

The Awards Committee has met to continue to finalize plans for the Awards Banquet. The Marketing Committee is working on flyers to promote the award winners and the Awards Banquet. The Committee continues to work with the designer to proofread flyers and other marketing materials. Notification emails will be sent to awardees with final information and details on next week. Our last meeting before the Annual Conference is scheduled for Tuesday, September 20 from 4:30-6:00 PM.

Submitted by:
Tara Y. White, Chair
Camesha Scruggs, Vice Chair
Anton House
Moses Massenburg
Gregory Mixon
Denise Barnes Rolark