ASALH AWARDS COMMITTEE REPORT May 2023

The Awards Committee convened a series of meetings in April and May to identify a slate of award nominees to recommend to the Executive Council for recognition this fall during the annual meeting of ASALH in Jacksonville, Florida. Each committee member reviewed the nomination materials for one award category (Bethune Service Award, Freedom Scholar Award, Living Legacy Award, and Woodson Medallion) and presented the top nominees in each respective award category for the full committee to consider. Based on this deliberative process the Awards Committee recommends the following to the Executive Council for recognition at the 2023 Award Banquet this fall:

Bethune Service Award – Moses Massenburg and Rose Whitehorn Freedom Scholar Award – TaKeia Anthony and Lisa Brown Living Legacy Award – James Hargett and Rudy Bradley, Michelle Duster, Ronald Saunders, and Johnnetta Cole Woodson Medallion – Francille Wilson

For the Council Award of Special Recognition, the Awards Committee recommends:

Sundiata Cha-Jua¹ Barbara Dunn Bettye Gardner Joe Madison Diane E. Miller Annette Teasdale

For context, the following lists the nominees submitted to the Awards Committee by award category:

Bethune Service Award Nominees Rose Whitehorn Greg Wiggan Moses Massenburg Rodney Hurst William Guerry Felder Stacy L. Henderson

Freedom Scholar Award Nominees Lisa Brown Annette Teasdale Dolly Marshall

¹ The Awards Committee discussed the special circumstance of awarding this recognition to a current member of the Executive Council and recommend that Cha-Jua's nomination be considered against the optics of the of the EC making this award to one of its own.

TeKeia Anthony Shields Redmon

Living Legacy Award Nominees Tracy and Sunshine Gantt Yuri Williams Rudy Bradley James T. Hargrett William A. Darity, Jr. Ronald Saunders Trevor J. Walker Nikki Porcher Rudolph Waldo McKissick Sr. Gwen Thomas Michelle Duster

Carter G. Woodson Medallion Francille Wilson Otis D. Alexander TeKeia Anthony Diane E. Miller Bobby Donaldson