ASALH AWARD COMMITTEE REPORT Monday, February 12, 2024

Cornelius L. Bynum, Chair

The Award Committee met Tuesday, February 6, 2024, at 6:30 PM Eastern to initiate the 2024 award nomination process. Meeting attendees included: Cornelius Bynum, Camesha Scruggs, Aaisha Haykal, and Marvin Dulaney.

The committee discussed drafting and publishing the announcement of the opening of the nomination process, drafting communications to ASALH branches to solicit nominees, changes to the Award Committee page to make the nomination button linked the nomination application more accessible, and appointment of new committee members.

The committee chair Bynum composed and submitted to the V.P. of Programs Haykal the draft announcement of the opening of the nomination process and letter to ASALH branches soliciting nominees. V.P. Haykal coordinated with the ASALH web design staff to relocate the nomination button on the Award Committee page. The committee discussed submitting Gregory Mixon and TaKeia Anthony, 2023 Freedom Scholar Award Recipient, to President Dulany for appointment to the Award Committee for 2024.

The committee agreed to set its next meeting sometime shortly before the March 31, 2024, closing of the award nomination process to plan for the review of nominations. The meeting adjourned shortly before 7:30 PM Eastern.