News Release Date: December 13, 2023

Contact: [email protected]


WASHINGTON – Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland today designated 16 new National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) and two new National Natural Landmarks (NNLs). The designations reflect the importance of the sites in sharing America’s rich history and extraordinary natural features.     

“The new National Historic and Natural Landmarks designated today further the Interior Department’s vision for inclusive and collaborative conservation,” said Secretary Deb Haaland. “Supporting voluntary and locally led stewardship is key to nationwide efforts to conserve and connect the lands upon which we all depend.”       

“It’s important that the places we deem nationally significant represent the historical and natural diversity of the American experience,” said Chuck Sams, Director of the National Park Service, which administers the NHL and NNL programs. “These 18 new landmarks further illustrate and expand our country’s collective heritage and splendor.”    

New National Historic Landmarks  

NHLs are some of the nation’s most historically important buildings, sites, structures, objects and districts, which communicate themes in history, archeology, architecture, engineering and cultural significance. NHL designation is the highest federal recognition of a property’s historical, architectural, or archeological significance, and a testament to the dedicated stewardship of many private and public property owners who seek this designation.   

The newly designated NHLs in locations across the country join a select group of more than 2,600 noteworthy places that possess exceptional value in illustrating the history of the United States.

The Secretary also approved updated documentation for six current NHLs and withdrawal of designation from three NHLs because of loss of historic integrity due to fire or other damage. (including the Carter G. Woodson Home owned by the National Park Service.)

Continue reading…