ASALH established the Award of Special Recognition to acknowledge the contributions of individuals, institutions and corporations that make a substantial contribution to the success of ASALH in pursuing the mission of its founder, Dr. Carter G. Woodson.  The Award may vary and will include certificates, medals, trophies, and plaques.  Nominees must demonstrate a history of support for activities and programs consistent with ASALH’s mission, which may include support for annual events such as the Annual Meeting, the Black History Month Luncheon and the Carter G. Woodson Birthday Celebration, as well as support for special initiatives such as the general campaign. The Council, at its discretion, may also designate individuals for special recognition who have made noteworthy accomplishments or contributions to the documentation, preservation and accurate dissemination of the Black experience through teaching, service, research, scholarship and publishing.

Jarvis R. Givens
Fred O. Smith Sr.

Representative James Clyburn
David L. and Yvonne B. Acey

Edgar Brookins
Monroe Little
Mirlene Pitre

Lori Leah Croom
Michelle Duster
Margot Shetterly

Dorothy Bailey

Sheila Flemming-Hunter
Daryl Michael Scott

David C. Driskell

Addie Richburg
Frank Smith
Charles “Alan” Spears

Ms. Constance Tate

Howard Dodson
Thomas C. Battle
Carl M. Dunn
Robert L. Harris

James Johnson
Rev. Kenneth Hammond
Everett B. Ward
Dorothy Redford
Rev. David Forbes
Elsie Scott
Marvin Pittman
Charlie Nelms
Ethel Jones Bynum
Charles C. Brewer
Madlyn Calbert
Rev. William Calbert
Vincent deForest
Cora Dixon
Elmer D. Geathers
James “Buddy” Griggsby, III
Frederick J. Laney
Robert Stanton

Vincent de Forest
Faye McClure

John H. Bracey, Jr.
Gloria Harper Dickinson
James Turner
Laura Ann Wilkinson
Farmers Insurance Group
Our Authors Study Club, Inc.