ASALH Luminary Award

The ASALH Luminary Award was established to recognize the outstanding work and contributions related to the mission and goals of ASALH, including the local branch, by a person in the locale of the annual convention. Nominees should have made significant contributions to African American history and culture with a focus on the local community where the annual meeting of ASALH is being held. Nominations must be submitted by the Local Arrangements Committee and approved by the Executive Council of ASALH. 2019 was the inaugural year for this award.

Charles E. Cobb, Jr.
Marvin Dunn
Lovette W. Harper
Lizzie R Jenkins
Zohorah Simmons
Senator James T. Hargrett

Dr. Ralph Joseph Bryson (posthumous)
Mr. Fred David Gray, Sr., Esq.

Dr. Henry Louis Gates

Rev. Nelson B.Rivers, III