Initiated in partnership with Farmers Insurance, the ASALH Living Legacy Awards honor African American women and men across the country engaged in extraordinary work to improve communities, institutions, organizations and family life. Past honorees include teachers, administrators, historians, academic writers, and trailblazers in institutions such as public, private and nontraditional primary and secondary schools, institutions of higher learning, government and community.

Lonnie G. Bunch

Archive: 2018 and Previous Living Legacy Awardees

No award

Bettye Collier-Thomas
Bryan Stevenson

Charles Bibbs
Ingrid Saunders Jones
View biographies of the 2016 awardees 

Arnold L. Mitchem
Reginald Van Lee
Myron A. Gray
Jonathan L. Weaver
Robert G. Stanton
The Honorable James E. Clyburn
The W.K. Kellogg Foundation (WKKF)
The Honorable James E. Clyburn
Living Legacy Award Recipients 2015 Bios

Charlene M. Dukes
The Honorable Patsy Jo Hilliard
Bell Hooks
Freeman A. Hrabowski, III
Velma Lois Jones
Wyman O. Jones, Sr
Joyce Ladner
LaSalle D. Leffall, Jr
Reginald L. Weaver
Raymond A. Winbush2013
Mary Frances Berry
Camille Billops
Roslyn M. Brock
Pauletta Brown Bracy
Minnijean Brown Trickey
Queen Quet Marquetta L. Goodwine
Eloise Greenfield
Antoinette Harrell
Olivia Hooker
Lyn Hughes
Dorothy Jones
Cheryl L. Knox
Latoya Lucas
Naomi Long Madgett
Margaret Moore
Mary Moultrie
Newatha Myers
Consolee Nishimwe
Florence Tate
Najmah Thomas
Camilla P. Thompson

Denise Rolark Barnes
Brigadier General Barbaranette T. Bolden
Beverly Bond
Roslyn Brock
Lavern Chatman Brown
Peggy Cooper Cafritz
Ambassador Suzan Johnson Cook
Marion Wright Edelman
Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham
Allison Hill
JC Hayward
Mae Jemison
Bishop Vashtai McKenzie
Eleanor Holmes Norton
Bernice Johnson Reagon
Julieanna Richardson
Paula Whetsel-Ribeau
Tracey Webb
Lynn Whitfield